First Day on the Job

First Day on the Job

B. S. Incorporated is a new book by Jennifer Rock and Michael Voss, recommended for fans of The Office and Office Space. Funny, insightful, and heartfelt, B.S., Incorporated is a feel-good story about people finding themselves and coming into their own while simultaneously skewering every aspect of life in Corporate America. It’s a book that anyone in the business world will get a huge kick out of… After all, every job contains a certain amount of B.S. Read an excerpt from the book.

Read More

What’s Your Online Reputation Say About You? Your Facebook Profile Matters!

What’s Your Online Reputation Say About You? Your Facebook Profile Matters!

Unlike LinkedIn, Facebook is not classified as a “professional social network.” For the most part, it’s a freely social place—a spot online where you can stay in touch with friends, family members, significant others, and other personal connections through multiple channels. However, just because Facebook favors the personal rather than the professional doesn’t mean that it has no impact on your reputation. Many employers will search for employees and potential hires on Facebook, and some Facebook pages or posts can appear on a simple Google search of your name.

Read More

PODCAST: How to Become the Boss That Nobody Will Leave

PODCAST: How to Become the Boss That Nobody Will Leave

If you are a mid-level manager you need to listen to this podcast. Scott Love shows managers how to be the boss nobody will leave.  With over 20 years of empirical research, he gives managers tactical ideas to lead in a way that increases employee retention, reduces turnover, and attracts high achievers.  He is a successful entrepreneur, professional keynote speaker, the author of Why They Follow, and is a graduate of the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland.

Read More

A Quick and Easy Cover Letter Format That Works

A Quick and Easy Cover Letter Format That Works

It’s easy to overthink a cover letter with the idea that the hiring manager will scour the piece looking for clues about your qualifications. Often, hopeful applicants will jam a page (or more) with accomplishments in the hopes that the reader will be impressed by an expansive array of specific skills. However, according to a study by the Society for Human Resource Management, most readers look at your cover letter for less than 1 minute. That means they are scanning rather than reading.

Read More

10 CV mistakes that might cost you a job

10 CV mistakes that might cost you a job

The job market is more brutally competitive now than ever before. According to Robert Meier, President of Job Market Experts, only 2% of job applicants actually make it to the interview stage, meaning that a whopping 98% of candidates are eliminated on the back of an inadequate CV.

Read More

Email etiquette: the art of communicating effectively for work

Email etiquette: the art of communicating effectively for work

Emails: we send hundreds of them every month and hope that they reach their intended target, conveying the messaging we plan. However, a poorly constructed email might mean that what you are trying to say gets lost, or not read at all. There is an art to writing and composing a professional email. Here are some tips to get you started. 

Read More

Ten New Job Search Sites Discovered

Ten New Job Search Sites Discovered

Part of being a good job seeker is maximizing your use of online job boards. Our Career Tools directory is the best place to do that. You can browse over 1,100 sites for jobs, salaries and resume builders. Below are the ten latest sites that have been added to our directory.

Read More
Copyright 2012-1016 CareerCloud LLC